Jefim and the Notebook’s DVD

Well, today I spent about 1 hour fixing the DVD drive in my notebook (Acer 5021WLMI). I had the problem quite a long time and I fixed it. Oh, yeah, the problem was, by the way, that you had to hold the DVD with pressure in order for it to appear on the list of devices (and if you release it – it disappears from there). Image that you have to install Linux/Windows. One hour of continuous DVD-drive-holding. That was a nightmare (and I did that once).

One good thing I found out was the fact, that the optical drive is held by 1 screw (at least on the Acer Aspire 3000/5000 series), so I thought that I could take a peek inside and see what the hell is going on. I had a guess, that the cable is not plugged in properly and that became fact when I removed the DVD drive. The problem was that the screwholes in that place were not very exact, so I had to do some monkey-job making one hole bigger. After doing that I replaced my DVD back into the notebook and it is working now without any problems! Horray!

I’m number one! I’m number one! I’m number one!

PS Кстати, я только  сейчас подумал – а на кой я это на английском написал?..

4 Responses to Jefim and the Notebook’s DVD

  1. Поздравляю с решением проблемы! Кста надо делать фотки в таких случаях и постить куда нить. Я так свой дигифотик разбирал Х)

    >PS Кстати, я только сейчас подумал – а на кой я это на английском написал?..
    ФБР будет легче логи на тебя составлять (:
    С другой стороны…. хотя нет, могут перевести, ….вообщем станешь большим дядькой в ИТ. Твой блог будут первокурсникам во всём мире давать читать 8)

  2. >Кста надо делать фотки в таких случаях и постить куда нить
    Слушай, я подумал об этом, но фотика нормального под рукой не было.

  3. […] Jefim Borissov Programmer « Jefim and the Notebook’s DVD […]

  4. Я тогда с телефона делал. Видно плохо, но видно. Пост ток на форуме одном сделал, а надо бы ещё где нить ):

Leave a Reply

