Dialog with technical support

So, recently I had a dialogue with technical support of one service. The problem was simple – I had to download about 1.6GB of files from them and the download speed was 2-5KB/sec. (yes, KILOBYTE per second). So I contacted the support telling them that this is unacceptable (ETA ~240 hours or something like that).

Me:

<I explain the problem in detail, everything I thing would be important>

Support:

Thank you for contacting us. In order to better understand your issue, please send us a little information about your network setup. We need to know exactly how you connect to the Internet. Do you use any routers, hubs, or switches? If so, what is the make and model? Who is your Internet provider and where are you physically located? Are you on a home, campus, business or military network? Please also let us know if you are using any firewall or Internet security applications such as Norton™, McAfee®, or ZoneAlarm®.

Me:

Hi, I am behind a Trendnet <my model> router (at home, so no restrictions are set up on the router).
I am located in , my ISP is .
Additionally, I tried attaching “-p 13…” to the command line, I am running the program as administrator.
I have set up port forwarding:
1. UDP xxxxxxx
2. TCP xxxxxxx
3. TCP xxxxxxx
4. TCP xxxxxxx

Support:

Thank you for providing the requested information.

At this time, we would like to know exactly how you connect to the Internet. Please also let us know if you are using any firewall or Internet security applications such as Norton™, McAfee®, or ZoneAlarm®.

Me:

What do you mean “how exactly do you connect”? I take my internet cable, plug it to my cable modem, which is connected to my router and then I connect my PC and my router with a crossover cable.
I use .

Support:

Thank you for contacting us.

Usually connection issues such as this are caused by the way your network is set up. If you use a router, hub, or switch to share a single Internet connection, try disconnecting the device and connecting your PC directly to your modem. To reestablish your Internet connection, you will need to reset the modem by unplugging the power from it for 30 seconds and in addition rebooting your computer. Confirm your Internet connection is working properly by visiting a few websites. If this setup resolves the connectivity issue with the , then the router may need to be configured properly or require a firmware update. Assistance for both of these tasks can be found at the device manufacturer’s support website. If you are still experiencing this issue while directly connected to your modem, make sure any firewalls are configured to allow the to connect. If you still have connectivity issues after trying these steps then please let us know.

Whoosh! Now, in my life I was a witness for a lot of pointless dialogues, but this… this is just … unexpressable. This is the exact way how support should not act. You tell them everything they ask you about and puff! NOTHING! You get the same old answer. Now, already at the second reply I started thinking that this “support” is actually not human-based, but purely computer-based. Grrr, I’m andgry. Know what? I’m downloading the 1.6GB @ 3KB/sec now. Nothing I can do.

Leave a Reply

